Uncategorized

Tips for online learning-

With lockdown number 3 comes the promise of more online learning. This is tough and I want to start off by saying it is ok to be sad that the circumstances mean it is still unsafe to return to face-to-face learning on campus. For me, adjusting to online learning was challenging but now I have found what works for me. In this post I want to share with you all some tips for learning online and making the most out of your experience. It is important to note that everyone works differently and what works for me, may not work for you. That is ok! I just hope I can provide you all with at least one useful tip in order to improve your learning experience at this time.

Chat box function

In live lectures and online seminars, I am sure you are all aware of the chat box function. This is a bonus which we don’t get from face-to-face teaching. If you are having a low day and don’t wish to be on camera, it enables you to still contribute your thoughts to your peers. While this can be an anxiety ridden task for many, I at least want to offer you the assurance that no input is bad input. I love hearing what other students have to say during seminars and for some of you the chat box function will allow you to build some confidence. It is also a great place to insert quotations from any works being discussed to save everyone searching for particular sections of text.

If you are having a low day, let your seminar leaders know

I think it has been common this academic year to have days where the last thing you want to do is be on camera. I found myself many times in the first semester feeling low, so I decided to reach out to my seminar leaders. By informing them of my wish not to be on camera and that my contributions would be minimal, my anxiety was reduced. I know it can be nerve-wracking to email your tutors about anxieties but I want to assure you that you know what is best for your own mental health. In our current situation, they will understand and appreciate you reaching out and you will reduce any pressure you feel to be active in the seminar. We all have low days – give yourself some time when you do.

Email seminar leaders

While we cannot meet seminar leaders face to face, online tutorials are still available to us and that can be easy to forget. If you have any questions, email them. Reach out! They are there to help you, be it from a distance. Reach out to your peers too if you are struggling – they may be able to offer you some needed advice too!  I used to struggle to reach out to my seminar leaders, often feeling intimidated by their intelligence. After remembering that we are all human and starting to reach out, I have found the confidence to speak up when I am confused.

Have a day off

Try and set a day of the week where you won’t do any work. Working from home can result in turning everyday into a work day and this should be avoided. Having a day off allows you to relax, rebuild and it gives you something to push towards throughout the working week. This day doesn’t always have to be the same day of the week either – you can alternate if you struggle to keep to a set schedule like I do.

Make time for the other side of your university life

It is not only learning that is online at the moment, it is the whole university experience. Make sure you take the time to chat to friends and attend online socials for societies you are a part of. Right now, we all need to be there for one another and I find speaking to my friends helps raise my spirits.

Have a designated work space

When discovering university would be going online, I was worried. With a small bedroom, I had no real study space in my home. I made an investment in a cheap fold away desk and chair and it was the best decision I have made. Now I have my own place to work and I find myself getting distracted less frequently than before. Find a study space that works for you, and you will find your concentration will be improved.

Take advantage of not having to commute

Learning from home offers extra time that would often be spent travelling to and from uni – or just walking from one seminar room to the next. Take advantage of this spare time. Use it to study, relax or have a lay in bed! Getting plenty of sleep boosts concentration so make the most of the time you have to rest and reset.

Take breaks

This is an obvious one but is easily forgotten. Maker sure you take breaks while working. Move away from your work space and grab a snack, go for a walk, do something you enjoy or chat online with a friend. Taking breaks reduces the risk of burn out and will keep you feeling refreshed and ready to do more studying.

If scheduling is for you, do it! If not, don’t!

Some people love working to a schedule, others not so much. I am the latter but I still find it useful to write out daily to do lists. Invest in a planner to keep track of deadlines and what you have coming up! If you are a mood learner, like me, that is fine but setting even small goals for your day can boost that feeling of achievement when ticking a task off of your list.

Start your assignments sooner rather than later

I know I sound like a lecturer saying this but it really does help! Online learning can be challenging and I often find it hard to motivate myself for essay writing. By starting assignments early, you will be able to work at a slower pace and and build your assignment at a speed that works for you. You will also finish earlier, giving you time to sit on your work for a few days before submission, in case any new ideas come to you.

I hope that I could be some help with these online learning tips. I am sending love to all of you in these challenging times and with the vaccines I feel we are just starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel. I am proud of what we as students have achieved so far this academic year under such challenging circumstances. I hope you are proud of yourselves too. You deserve to be. Wishing everyone a happy and healthy second semester!

Emmy x

Leave a comment